About Me

Im a 25 year old PHP developer located in Preston, UK. I currently work for a digital agency called ICG which is based in Warton. I have worked here since April 2012. While working here I have had the chance to work on some very exciting projects with some big named clients. I have learnt a lot about building robust bespoke content management systems and user-friendly websites.

I moved to Preston 3 years ago after finishing my degree in Information Systems from the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, to live with my partner Kate. A qualified Social Worker, she graduated from UCLAN in 2012. We have now bought our house in Walton-le-Dale which we are bit by bit renovating. We also have a one year old son together called Jackson, who is awesome! I dont think I've ever met someone so determined in all my life. As soon as he learns one thing he is straight lon to the next. He was crawling by 6 months, walking by 10 months and at 14 months he's climbing the blooming walls! The little fellow won't sit still for more than a few seconds before he's on his next adventure. Also living with us is our 3 year old Bengal cat Tibbles; I've managed to train her to do tricks such as sit, lie down, roll over, give paw and fetch. She's an absolute character, more like a dog than a cat, from chasing the postman off our drive to never leaving my side and always wanting to play fetch with a pair of baby socks. 

When I'm not at home with the family I'm training at Sukata Preston. I train BJJ (Brazilian Jiu Jitsu) a non-striking martial art. The aim of the game is to use technique to get a dominant position over your opponent and submit them by applying chokes or joint manipulating locks. I also train MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) which, as its name suggests, is a mixture of all the martial arts; including Muay Thai, Wrestling and BJJ. I didn't do much n the way of Martial Arts growing up; I played Ice Hockey up until I was at University. Once I moved to Preston I decided to join a club, learn some skills and lose the beer belly I gained while at University. I am now a blue belt under Thomas Hanlon. I enjoy competing regulary; up until this point I achieved gold in Northwest Open 2012 and gold Blackpool Open 2012 as a white belt, and as a Blue belt, silver in the Northwest Open 2013, bronze in the Sub North 5 2013 (no gi) and gold in the Sub North 6. I have had one MMA fight when I fought for BCFC (British cage fighting championships); I won this fight via 3rd round TKO. 

I also enjoy assault courses where I'm jumping over fire, getting electric shocks, swimming through what feels like the coldest water known to man and generally pushing myself physically and mentally. I recently completed "Tough Guy". Tough Guy claims to be the world's most demanding one-day survival ordeal. I did it and also raised £900 for the Royal Marines Charatable Trust Fund. Since then I've also done a number of 10k runs, 10k night trail runs, assault courses and a couple half marathons.